Squirrel Forced to Wear Military Costumes, Pose for Photos

I’m one of those people who doesn’t really enjoy seeing animals dressed up in human outfits. The most ‘human-like’ clothing I’ve forced my dog to wear is a scarf, and in spite of his grandparents’ best efforts, he refuses to wear doggie sweaters.

So, when the “Sugar Bush Squirrel” came across my inbox yesterday, I cringed. I didn’t get it, what’s funny about this? What’s cute? It’s very creepy, no? I don’t even like linking to it. (One sentence summary: Some woman in Florida apparently dresses up her rescued sugar glider in military garb, and takes photos of said squirrel and then tries to lift the spirits of U.S. troops with her staged photos.)

While I won’t go so far as to say this is animal abuse, I will simply say: I don’t like it.

To read a lot more on this strange woman, see this newspaper article: “Victory Varmint.”

3 thoughts on “Squirrel Forced to Wear Military Costumes, Pose for Photos

  1. Sugar Bush Squirrel is not a Sugar Glider. Sugar Bush Squirrel is an Eastern Gray Squirrel (Sciurus carolinensis).

  2. Woops! Thanks for correcting me.

  3. Oh, and by the way, I agree it’s creepy! 🙂

Speak, rodent:

